The Siren

 

crdex0bveaaunitA few months ago, when I first started this blog, I wrote my first blog post. It was called The Selection. I kept ranting on about how much I loved Kiera Cass’s writing and the story lines, and everything about them. Little did I know that her books just got better and better…


Once upon a time (yesterday afternoon), I was casually browsing my local bookstore, when I came across the YA section, I kept walking (technically skipped) over to the bookshelves. I looked at one shelf, and then another and then another until… the unthinkable happened. A book that I thought wasn’t released yet suddenly appeared on the bookshelf. The Siren. Blatantly staring at me. Begging to be bought. Screaming my name. I immediately snatched the book, searched through my wallet and handbag reaching for any coins I could find to buy the book. As soon as I bought it, I went home and read, ate some food, read, went to sleep, woke up this morning, read some more, and didn’t stop (apart from eating) until I was finished.

The emotion in this book… The way the book is written… The fact that it was written by the one and only Kiera Cass. The book cover. There is nothing bad about this book!

A while ago when I was reading the Goodreads blurb of this book, I wasn’t too sure about it, seeing that I have never read a book about Sirens or mythological creatures like them. But after seeing the cover, and obsessing more over Kiera Cass, I realised that NOT reading it, would practically be a crime. Best decision I ever made (in the book world) was to read this book.


siren_bookcover

Kahlen is a Siren, bound to serve the Ocean by luring humans to watery graves with her voice, which is deadly to any human who hears it. Akinli is human—a kind, handsome boy who’s everything Kahlen ever dreamed of. Falling in love puts them both in danger… but Kahlen can’t bear to stay away. Will she risk everything to follow her heart? (Goodreads Summary)

“We were stars. We were music. We were time.”

– Kiera Cass, The Siren

 


I honestly want to thank Kiera Cass for giving us fans the wonderful experience of reading her books. I’m sure I speak for a majority of us when I say, it brings happiness to our days, emotion, with tears of both sadness and joy. These experiences are ones we will keep with us always.

This book is available from: Book Depository, BookTopia, Barnes & Noble, Dymocks, Harper Collins, Amazon, and your local bookstore!

Currently (STILL) reading:

Breathe (Breathe #1) by Sarah Crossan

One thought on “The Siren

Leave a Reply

