The Weight Of Water

Firstly, I want to thank Bloomsbury for sending me this book to review. I have never read a book quite like this one. I read the blurb a month or so before I received it, and purposely did not re-read the blurb before I actually read the book, and I am so happy that I didn’t, because I basically went into it, with no expectations or knowledge about it.

Also can I just give a shout out to Oliver Jeffers! The illustrator of this book, which so perfectly captures the story, and once you have read the book, you will (hopefully) look back at the cover and understand, and really appreciate as I, and many others also do.

11409124

“I tell her my name.

And some of my story.”

– Sarah Crossan, The Weight of Water


The Weight Of Water is a book full of emotion, relatability, and a little bit of humour. When I first opened the book, I saw that it was written in stanzas, almost, and I thought that it was a book written in rhyme, but as I read it, I was so intrigued by the language of it and the story line, I hardly noticed.

Sarah Crossan writes so well, and I am so glad that I chose this book as the first book I have read by her. I read it in such a short amount of time, also since it is a very small book. I have actually become emotionally attached to it, and look forward to reading it over and over again.


Armed with a suitcase and an old laundry bag filled with clothes, Kasienka and her mother head for England. Life is lonely for Kasienka. At home her mother’s heart is breaking and at school friends are scarce. But when someone special swims into her life, Kasienka learns that there might be more than one way for her to stay afloat.”The Weight of Water” is a startlingly original piece of fiction; most simply a brilliant coming of age story, it also tackles the alienation experienced by many young immigrants. Moving, unsentimental and utterly page-turning, we meet and share the experiences of a remarkable girl who shows us how quiet courage prevails. (Goodreads summary)


I rated this book 4 stars.

Disclosure: I was sent this book from Bloomsbury in exchange for an honest review.

Also go check out my friend Lauren on The Book Nerd! She posts great reviews and loads more.

Currently reading:

Breathe (Breathe #1) by Sarah Crossan

 

3 thoughts on “The Weight Of Water

Leave a Reply

